4

There are several ways to get an IMDb dataset for movies, with information of title, actors and more.

However, I just want to get a dataset of the user profile and their reviews, watchlist, and ratings.

Is there any formal API for developer to fetch dataset like that or some existed dataset about users on IMDb?

6
  • Reviews don't seem to be released. See here stackoverflow.com/a/24839719/2327328 and here opendata.stackexchange.com/q/1073/1511
    – philshem
    Oct 27, 2014 at 8:42
  • It's not the same thing, but I assume you're familiar with the large dataset Netflix released a few years ago?
    – user3856
    Oct 27, 2014 at 20:34
  • @philshem I read those carefully and got some ideas. It is, however, sad to be limited to get datasets :(.
    – Toomatoo
    Oct 28, 2014 at 9:38
  • @BarryCarter maybe I should it try though.
    – Toomatoo
    Oct 28, 2014 at 9:40
  • Is it for research only? Or for commercial use? Or for something else? Answer might depend on your goal.
    – Nicolas Raoul
    Oct 29, 2014 at 1:54

1 Answer 1

0

Users-related data is not currently released.

One option could be screen-scraping, but it is forbidden by the usage conditions:

Robots and Screen Scraping: You may not use data mining, robots, screen scraping, or similar data gathering and extraction tools on this site, except with our express written consent as noted below.

3
  • So it is kind of cruel when I am planning to start a research topic about recommending movies to users. Any advice in terms of data?
    – Toomatoo
    Oct 28, 2014 at 11:47
  • 1
    I'm not a lawyer, but I'd simply ignore those restrictions and do it anyway. Unless IMDB finds a way to shut you down, I don't think they can legally pursue this. You almost definitely fall under the research "clause" of the Fair Use Doctorine.
    – user3856
    Oct 28, 2014 at 16:16
  • 1
    Yes, you are right. I am such a novice in research to be cautious about legality or other factors. Anyway, Getting data is one of the most interesting parts in research, although sometimes obstructed and tedious.
    – Toomatoo
    Oct 30, 2014 at 3:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.